Campo San Rocco is a charming Venetian square between the Rialto and the Saint Lucia railway station.
The square gets its name from the church of San Rocco and the Scuola Grande di San Rocco, whose impressive white piers add character to the area.
The church holds the relics of St. Rocco that are displayed and venerated each year on 16th August, on the occasion of the saint’s feast day (“Festa di San Rocco”). A large wooden structure covered with a canopy is erected in the square, linking the entrances to the church and the Scuola with the main access to the square.
The perimeter of this canopy and stones used to house its columns are clearly visible in the pavement around the square. This “tendòn” (tent) was the result of an old vow by the Venetian Senate and Signoria in exchange for the city’s liberation from the plague. Once Venice had been freed of the plague, the Doge would visit the church and confraternity every year during this festival.
1500 - - rev. 0.1.5