The Campo San Rocco.

The Scuola Grande di San Rocco.

Feast-day of San Rocco, Canaletto, 1739.

The religious procession of the August 16.

Fireworks August 16.
search | map
| home
ita | fra | eng | esp
contact us | copyright

Related Topics

no schede

Video Gallery

No video

Photo Gallery

immagine didascalia

The Campo San Rocco.


immagine didascalia

The Scuola Grande di San Rocco.


immagine didascalia

Feast-day of San Rocco, Canaletto, 1739.


immagine didascalia

The religious procession of the August 16.


immagine didascalia

Fireworks August 16.


no map

Feast-day of San Rocco

Campo San Rocco is a charming Venetian square between the Rialto and the Saint Lucia railway station.
The square gets its name from the church of San Rocco and the Scuola Grande di San Rocco, whose impressive white piers add character to the area.

The church holds the relics of St. Rocco that are displayed and venerated each year on 16th August, on the occasion of the saint’s feast day (“Festa di San Rocco”). A large wooden structure covered with a canopy is erected in the square, linking the entrances to the church and the Scuola with the main access to the square.
The perimeter of this canopy and stones used to house its columns are clearly visible in the pavement around the square. This “tendòn” (tent) was the result of an old vow by the Venetian Senate and Signoria in exchange for the city’s liberation from the plague. Once Venice had been freed of the plague, the Doge would visit the church and confraternity every year during this festival.


1500  -   - rev. 0.1.5

[-A] [+A]

Venice and its lagoons

World Heritage, a dialogue between cultures: which future?

credits | help